What to do, what to do…

Sometimes it can get tough to keep up with things; homework, friendships, a blog… Whatever it may be, to do lists seem to grow and grow, and then they seem to be this huge monster looming over your shoulder. Lately I’ve found myself jumping awake in the middle of the night feeling anxious. Sometimes it’s because of a dream, or a forgotten idea from the previous day, but recently it’s been from anxiety about forgetfulness. I forget to do a quick quiz, to start a paper outline, to eat my dinner, to study, the list goes on and on. And it never seems to get any shorter!

The first thought that comes to mind is when I was 18, fresh out of high school, with my dad telling me that it only gets crazier from there, and to enjoy it. Needless to say, those years are gone, and they were gone sooner than I ever expected them to be! Now fresh into 22, I’m staring down a loaded barrel of my last semester of college, graduate school, a job, a family…oh God. Here we go. This is what I do to myself every day! Of course, there are always those things I resort to stressing about, and they sure as hell aren’t good to me. What if they don’t accept my application? Will I be living at home until I’m 25? When can I have a life? HOW DO I PAY OFF ALL THIS DEBT?!?

Regardless of how many times I tell myself to chill out, no matter how many times my guy tells me to “woo-sah”, I still find myself holding the weight of my world on my shoulders. But then, when I stop to think about it, I realize why all that stress just keeps coming on. Nothing on my list is good. Like inherently fun, or exciting, or great to think about and anticipate. It’s full of “do this paper now” and “make sure to take the GRE by this time”; there is no “make sure to GO OUT tomorrow” or “spend some quality free time with your family/friends/boyfriend”. There is literally nothing benefiting me physically or mentally on this list; it only ensures I graduate and am ready for whatever comes next. What I don’t look at is that if I don’t take care of ME, there won’t be a ME in the future.

SO, it’s time for that to change. It’s time to make a long-term FUN to do list.

  1. Read one “fun” book a month; having too much school reading is not an excuse to lose touch with your favorite hobby.
  2. Give the boy at least one full day of attention a week; you already don’t see him much, make the time worth it!
  3. Exercise; yeah, this isn’t fun, but your body will thank you, and you will DEFINITELY thank your body!
  4. Sleep, and sleep well; turn off the TV, put on some music, shut off the lights and get the deep sleep you need.
  5. Eat well; you know what your body wants and what it needs. Stick to the needs and have a few wants when it should happen.
  6. Make one evening a week a YOU night; take a bath, watch a movie, give yourself a facial, do what you want to do!
  7. Write letters; to friends or family, it doesn’t matter, just do it!
  8. RELAX. You heard me, just do it.

So there it is. The list to end all lists. And the one I should really be thinking about when I feel bogged down in all the exhausting events that school/work bring along. And you should do it, too! Get out there and make your own feel-good list; make it happen, and I bet you anything you’ll start feeling better.

x

Leave a Reply

