Savvy savings…sometimes

I think that I’ve realized that I really can’t hold on to my debit card, no matter how hard I try. I can’t save my money. I always end up spending it all on things that I want but maybe don’t need so much. And that’s a problem because the real world is now one month closer than it was in November! That’s a scary thought…but I digress. I need to figure out how to save the little that I do earn at my part-time job. In a little less than a year, I will be paying off my (huge) student debt, pitching in on rent and utilities, not to mention groceries and gas money! My parents have done the best job they could teaching me how to save my money or to spend it wisely, but I am just not the saving type, which SUCKS. They have helped me out with my rent and utilities while I have been in school, and that has saved my ass many a time. But I still take advantage of the extra cash when I should be keeping it for good use. I think I am the least fiscally-aware being in my family. Seriously. My little brother has always been the most frugal person I know, and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten more jealous of that trait.

I want to save more of my money so that as I pay off bills each month, I can still afford to eat at a nice restaurant once a month or go see that AWESOME new Avenger’s movie on a Saturday! I enjoy my Starbucks too much, my date nights, my cute new dress for Christmas, and just about everything else that I waste my money on. But for some reason, I just can’t stop. So, I’m going to challenge myself at the beginning of the year (so I can try not to stress over holiday expenses); I want to save more than I spend on the necessities for the entire semester. The approach I am taking is to withdraw the amount of money I budgeted for certain things (gas and groceries, mainly) in cash, and to lock away my debit card for the rest of each month. The amount of money that I will be saving should be fairly huge, and I will hopefully (hopefully, hopefully, HOPEFULLY) figure out how to save my hard-earned money before it’s too late to begin.

Budgeting is the least interesting thing in the world to me, and I know I am not alone in that respect, but I also know that as I get older it is becoming more important for me to use my earnings wisely, otherwise I’m setting myself up for failure before I can even get started. I find that writing about it is more of a motivator for myself, so if you’re out there reading this insanely boring post, I’m sorry. Go find something more interesting that I’ve written. But from January 1st, 2014 to May 10th, 2014, I’ll be keeping up on my budget and letting you all know how it’s going and if my challenge of choice is really doing the trick. Hopefully I can change my dirty habit before graduation day!

x

Have you ever tried to find a way of saving rather than spending? Tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

