Back to the Basics Means Back to the Books

2014-01-03 00.12.33

This is a lifestyle blog of sorts…ya know, in the way of me posting whatever is on my mind when I decide to write. Obviously some of you have become interested because you’re here and reading away, even though I have no idea why you’d be interested in my ramblings (really though, I bore myself quite often!). So here’s the topic on my mind today: books.

Obviously, I LOVE BOOKS. If I’ve written anything about myself and my interests on this blog, reading has been thrown out there. I’m an English major mainly because I love to read. Well, pretty much only because I like to read…but I’m a decent writer when it comes down to it, so that helps as well. Any who, I’ve decided that while I love to plan and organize and give myself life goals, it’s high time to give myself a required reading list (or recommended, just depends on how crazy the semester gets!). I wanted to read at least two books over my break, which turned into me FINALLY reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (amazing, amazing, AMAZING! You all have to read that novel. Blew my mind), and then simply buying The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Sadly, the only reason I have yet to read TFIOS is because I don’t want to be sad. Is that pathetic, or what?! I’ve heard nothing but fantastic words about the novel, and I was ecstatic when it finally found its way into my hands, but I just can’t bring myself to crack it open. Maybe I’ll tackle it this weekend.

One reason I want this list to happen is I have to rediscover my love for reading. School has seriously disenchanted my avid reading lifestyle, and that CANNOT happen. I have to keep my hobby alive! Another is, I’m kind of a text-to-film snob. TFIOS is coming out in theaters this year, and I adamantly refuse to see the movie before reading the novel. This list includes many novels that have film adaptations coming out this year, and genuinely interest me, but some are just loosely recommended by various bloggers, websites, articles, what have you. So, without further ado (and serious ranting…where did all of those tangents come from?), here is…

The Ultimate Reading Experience, 2014 Ed.

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green [heard nothing but amazing reviews, film adaptation expected 6/6/14]

2. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn [new favorite author for sure, film adaptation expected 9/1/14]

3. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway [I’ve always been captivated by his history, why not his literature next?]

4. The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert [Eat. Pray. Love. Need I say more?]

5. The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri [I’ve only read a short story of hers, but it was stunning.]

6. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson [Simply put, the plot sounds captivating.]

7. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman [Stardust was my childhood, so this should be my adulthood, right?]

8. Atonement by Ian McEwan [Loved the movie…never read the book. Oops.]

9. The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer [thank you, Cosmo book suggestions!]

10. Midwives by Chris Bohjalian [My interest requires a pretext. I watched “The Business of Being Born” and became obsessed. Future blog post? I think so.]

11. Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex by Mary Roach [Sex made scientific, historic, and hilarious? Count me in!]

12. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn [See #2 above.]

13. The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. by Adelle Waldman [Angsty book about a “sensitive guy”. I’m down.]

14. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt [Nicknamed “Harry Potter and the Priceless Work of Art”. Um…YES.]

15. Bossypants by Tina Fey [LOVE TINA FEY. ‘Nuff said.]

At 15, I think I’ll be well stocked for the next few months. Reading is my passion, and I think that passions need reigniting from time to time; for me, that time is right about…now! No matter where I go in life, reading will always be my dependable happy place, so I think I can find time to keep it close by. For now, I think it’s time to start the challenge.

I love to read, and I love to hear about new books so PLEASE feel welcome to give me all of your suggestions! 

Leave a Reply

