Gettin’ Fit!

Image

Today has been, well…a day. I was going to go into detail about how miserable this week has been, how cold it is, how I almost became a Rachael sandwich today, blah, blah, blah.  But NO! I am going to jump into something that actually lifts my spirits. I’m sure that if I wasn’t taking the week away from exercise, my day would have been, at the very least, a good day, but I think for now talking to you all about it is what will make it a better day.

Starting this year out like millions of others out there, with a…resolution…was, well, pretty much normal. I had always thought of the New Year as a new start like so many others out there. What I was doing really was making an excuse to not start my life changes the day I knew it had to happen. So, although it took some serious procrastination, January 1st 2nd was the beginning of a new chapter. I call it my new chapter, just like I would graduation, a new relationship, a birth, because it is a change, and it’s a change that I plan on keeping for the rest of my life. Working out is a personal decision, but getting healthy is a necessary one. I want to live a long, happy life, and in order to do so, fitness is key. This whole month, I’ve been eating healthier, working out at least 5 days a week, and finding different ways to motivate myself to keep it up.

My motivation for this month was a new outfit! I chose to make it a workout-friendly outfit because I found myself actually enjoying exercise this past month, and it’s one great feeling! I thought I would struggle with the exercise part, but it has actually been easiest. As I’ve already mentioned in an earlier post, the hardest part of this month has been the cravings. I have had some great diet days, but I’ve also had some seriously bad chocolate-fueled days. And I really need to work on that particular aspect of it all. Your diet plays a huge part in weight loss and muscle gain, and this month, that is my biggest mantra.

Image

This book is one of the many resources I’ve been using to help get acquainted with what is truly healthy and how to fuel my body. It’s the Women’s Health Perfect Body Diet by Cassandra Forsythe. Honestly, I came by this book by chance. It was in a Half Price Books here in Lexington (my mecca), and it caught my eye more than anything. It looked more fun than the typical health-wise novel, and I had the fitness challenge on my mind! It has a lot of information on what is healthy for every person’s body, frame, and so on, and it gave me a great estimate of what and how much I should be eating during the week. My diet is hard to control due to a hectic schedule and college-kid money status (aka POOR), so I’ve been doing what I can; however, this unfortunately means I can’t make a meal prep-plan (boo-hoo). Hopefully this can change in the next few months, but until then, I’ll just work on the curbing the cravings!

Diet aside, my exercise schedule can be made, because I’ve got an entire hour set aside each day, and a great array of equipment/videos to use! With an elliptical and stationary bike, plus every Bob Harper video I could ever dream of (thanks, Mom!), I have had a great jump into getting fit! Since I have already lost a bit of weight earlier last year (17 down, 13 to go!), it wasn’t too hard to get to a comfort level, so I’ve already been pushing myself harder each day. As much as I love the videos I do have, I want to start a program of sorts where my weight training can be expanded. If I fall short in any fitness category, it would be the weights. I don’t know how to do most of it, or where to start even, so video assistance is nice! So, with my next month down, I feel I will be ready to get into a more rigorous routine, and I’ve already chosen the program! Everyone raves about P90X, and I’d love to start there, but it seems a bit intimidating to be honest. After a few hours of research (at work…), I found Power 90 Master Series. Turns out, Tony Horton has a whole set of P90s that lead up to the X’s (most recently P90X3), and I think the step below extreme is right for me. Also on the list? Brazil Buttlift…well, a 20-minute extra workout. I like my butt, people, live with it!

Well, this lasted longer than I was expecting. But it really has brought my spirits up a bit! Later in the next week or so I’ll share my month’s exercise schedule. Scheduling everything is easier than just going in blind, at least for me, and if I’m not wanting to do my weight training one day, it’s not impossible to sub in an hour on the elliptical! I’m really excited to see what month two has in store for my body, and I’ll be even more excited to see how building my muscle back is going to help kick-start my metabolism and rev that energy!

Have you had any success with at-home exercise programs? If so, which ones? Did you find any outside resources helpful? I’d love to hear all about it below!

Leave a Reply

