Wednesday Talk

98cad100bd19c8df1f932040983a7e4754 (1)

[one] Spring break is in a week and a half. Which roughly equates to “Rachael’s spring break starts in a week because she’s going to Cleveland next Wednesday!” Talk about really excited. Because that’s what I am right now. Best friend reunion, concert at the House of Blues, best time of our college lives. Nothing can beat this, but I will continue.

[two] My workload this week is through da roof. Gangsta speak totally necessary. I feel a little bit of a cold coming along, and to be honest it could just be the side effects of a rough week, but the constant headache/haze that I’ve been in is no longer welcome. I have approximately: 5 response papers, three midterms, one blog post, and a weird map portfolio (not my words, that’s the actual name of the portfolio) due in the next 7 days. Looks like this weekend will be busy.

[three] Speaking of the weekend, guess who wants to go see 300: Rise of an Empire? If you guessed Rachael, you were wrong. Well, only partially, because I get to watch 300 with Zach on Saturday before we go. Michael Fassbender? Yes, please. Zach is a man, men love 300, men love to kick things over and yell “This is Sparta”; therefore, those of you who guessed that this was the boy’s choice have earned your gold star for the day.

[four] Monday’s snow day has quickly fallen into Tuesday’s rough drive to work and Wednesday’s “icy fog” as the weather-persons across the Bluegrass are calling it. I’m just ready for the sunshine-and-70 days to come back. Please?

[five] Did anyone else realize that Sunday is Daylight Savings Time? Cause I did today, and it cued the freaking out side of me. Wasn’t it just October, like, yesterday? I’m not complaining, but I must admit; I’m going to miss that hour come Monday morning.

[six] With spring break right around the corner, Zach and I have been rummaging around to find something to do. Last year sparked a cute, exciting trip to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, as I mentioned in a previous post. We were hoping to make another long weekend trip to a big city, Chicago perhaps, but our budgets gave us a resounding “no”. So, to make up for the fact that he already took two days off for me and the other art where we still want to go somewhere, we’ve decided to take a day trip. I already know where, but you will have to wait to find out! (mwahahah!)

[seven] Yesterday was one delicious Fat Tuesday even if I did stay in with the killer migraine and a date with Sigmund Freud. However, today brings about the day of truth! Lent is upon us. Yeah, yeah, I’m not Catholic, but having grow up in a Catholic school and a Methodist family, we see the sentiment and reason behind Lent; giving up something that really shouldn’t be in your life for whatever reason. Many people get pissy about people who give up junk food, but I think it should be whatever you like. I personally gave up chocolate, soda, and negative thinking for the next 40 days. Your body is a temple, and I definitely DO NOT treat it as such, so these three steps should help steer me in the right direction.

[eight] Today being Ash Wednesday means I may be making the trek to the family church. This morning, I woke up to a post from my parent’s pastor telling everyone that the ashes today are gluten free! I laughed a little, appreciated the sentiment, and then started wondering where those ashes come from. Burnt bread? Maybe. Either way, some people commented on the post, saying it was silly and wondering if it would be “organic” too. I, personally, found it a very kind gesture for those of us who would break out with the other ashes. People need to hold their tongues if they aren’t going to consider all those around them.

[nine] Wow, I’m getting kind of preach-y today. Sorry about that. Let’s just say, my emotions are running rampant this week, and my opinions have been coming out of their caves.

[ten] It’s Wednesday! Thank goodness for being halfway through the work-week, for the remaining health (that may be gone tomorrow), for a heat wave (here’s looking at you, 50 degrees!), and being one step closer to the end of the semester.

Leave a Reply

