Life Lately

Hello there! It sure seems like it’s been a while since we last spoke. What’s that you say? It’s been a month? I mean, technically…yes. It’s been a month. I suck. I think we can all agree that sometimes life just takes precedence over telling the tales. The month of May was definitely one of those times; a long, drawn out time, that is. Let’s start by outlining exactly what you all have missed…

The month of May called for…

  • Graduating!
  • An anniversary celebration
  • A (long-awaited) trip to Florida
  • An engagement…but not my own!
  • Getting back into the routine of life
  • The loss of a dear, sweet man (and the celebration of his life)
  • A new job!
  • and birthday celebrations.

Now, let’s start at the top.

Graduation [5.10.2014]

For a two-and-a-half hour ceremony, thirty seconds of elation as I walked across the stage, thirty more seconds of fireworks and streamers, and a mess of confusion throughout the day, we celebrated. Really and truly, that’s all I have to say about that. Except for PRAISE THE LORD I’M DONE.

I got all artsy.

I got all artsy.

An anniversary celebration [5.11.2014]

Two years with the love of my life. I couldn’t even try to be happier.

You were expecting a serious picture? YEAH RIGHT.

A (long-awaited) trip to Florida [5.12-5.17.2014]

A week spent with friends, some sand, a few drinks, and a couple of rounds of euchre. This is exactly how I want every vacation to be for the rest of my life. Not to mention, Florida contained…

We killed our meal at The Melting Pot.

We killed our meal at The Melting Pot.

An engagement…but not my own! [5.15.2014]

My best friend is getting married! SQUEE!!! And I got to take some engagement shots on the beach. These will grace the blog this week. GET EXCITED.

1557640_10152127181006149_2233948954778914946_n

Getting back into the routine of life

This one gets no explanation. While I enjoy my routine, I only got to enjoy it for two weeks. (Not to mention I would have rather planted my ass in Florida.)

 

The loss of a dear, sweet man (and the celebration of his life)

My sweet best friend lost her grandfather early last week, and I took some time to visit and celebrate his life with my second family. They took me in on a number of occasions when I was younger, and let me tell you this: no other grandpa has taken the time to cook delicious food, to put up with our loud children’s voices, or opened his doors to said squealing girls on so many occasions, and been so gracious. He is a soul who will truly be missed, but who is getting the best seat up above.

 

A new job! [5.30.2014]

Last Friday afternoon came with a nice surprise for a change…a new (real) job! I’m an adult! I have an office. With a desk. And places to put pictures. And the awesome cup Zach’s mom got me for graduation. Such excitement, some nerves, and a little bit of nausea followed me to the office this morning for a pretty fantastic first morning. How did I get so lucky?

 

…and birthday celebrations. [6.1.2014]

We celebrated the birth of my love with family and friends for the entirety of the weekend, and I could honestly think of no better way to spend my days off. We are both so lucky to have such fantastic friends and family members surrounding us. I loved celebrating Zach and his 26th birthday all weekend, and I really hope he grasped the gift of love and appreciation.

He loves me.

He loves me.

As you can see, life has been crazy. A little bit of good, a little bit of bad, and a whole lot of amazing were what the month of May had in store for me, and I just wish I could replay the month over and over again. Even though I couldn’t keep this lovely blog up-to-date constantly, I am glad I have a space to come back to and to collect the memories of how this new chapter in my life began. I honestly cannot wait to see what the next year has in store for me as well! It will no doubt be a time to learn, a time to grow, a time to find my path, and mostly time to celebrate, have fun, and live the best life possible! I should be on a much more normal schedule now that my life is back on a schedule, so keep an eye around these parts.

x.

Leave a Reply

