Oh Hey, Friday! [Personalizing the Office]

It’s Friday, it’s Friday! La la la! I feel like I’ve ben waiting for this day all of my life. The hardest week of grad school (thus far) is over with, I’m half way through my semester, and in one week, MY BEST FRIEND WILL BE HERE! Granted, I still haven’t got the room ready (trip to IKEA, anyone?), but it doesn’t mean I can’t get pumped for the arrival of my BFF and her man! Let’s get to my five for this week, which is all about making my office my own space.

[one] I have been at my job for going on four months now, and the only personalization I’ve done is move the existing furniture around, and bring in a cute desk calendar. I have decided that I’d like to spice it up a little, because my space is pretty dull. I’m the only woman in our part of the office, so it makes me feel weird to put effort into my space, but honestly, some days I just can’t even want to be here because it’s so dull! Let’s bring back a nice littler reminder of what my space looks like.

office;aoisdhf[Side note: that was really fun to take…and my first successful panoramic shot!] As you can see, it’s a spacy office, but I literally have little to no personal touches. As of today, I’ve decieded a little bit of “me” in the office won’t hurt.

[two] The first thing on my list? Switch up the desk. Instead of keeping the computer where it is, I am going to push it (and the tower, mouse, and keyboard) to the back left corner. That will give me the desk space I want (it may look empty, but each time I try to write, I end up pushing my mouse and keyboard back and forth). I am also going to lift my computer just a bit with the help of a riser so that I am not hunching over the screen. I am also considering moving my bookshelf to the other side of my desk or further back against my back wall in order to allow me to push my desk against the wall.

[three] I am going to bring some unused picture frames (two for my desk and a large one for my wall) from home, as well as a picture of my family (which will be replaced again in November when we have new family pics taken) and a picture of Zach and I (after the engagement session). The big frame is already filled with random shots of family and friends.

asdfaef

via.

[four] I am going to give myself a few fun things on the desk as well. I am going to get a personalized notebook to put on the right side for some personal notes or writing; really, whatever I fancy at the time. I got an English degree for a reason, might as well use it! On the bottom left corner of my desk, I am going to switch out inspirational quotes, pictures, or just something that’ll get my brain and motivation going. I want to make this a space that I want to come to, and when I’m here I want to feel inspired. I’m going to replace my dingy mouse pad too; not to diss Marathon (my aunt works for them!), but I need some color in my life! I also want just a little succulent for the top right hand corner of the desk. Getting some sunlight (from the window) and adding a little green will definitely help brighten my day!

[five] Finally, I want to create some space for my notes and a designated area for the clutter. I need to find a desk organizer that is cute and fun for the desk top (I can place it in front of my computer riser). I found one that I love, but, of course, it’s out of stock. So I’m on the lookout for cute, functional desk organization! I also want to give myself a space on my wall (near my desk, preferably) for a cork board. I want to have a place where I can keep my post-its, a little fun quote or two, and some of my must-have papers for the office. This way I can pull off my perpetual stickies form the computer frame!

It’s always easy to make your home office your own, but I’m just having trouble finding an appropriate way to personalize a space that still doesn’t feel like my own! How have you used your personality to spruce up your work place? I’d love to hear all about it in the comments!

Happy Friday!

I’m linking up with Karli and Amy for Oh Hey, Friday.

I am also jumping back into Five on Friday with these lovely ladies: Darci, April, Christina, and Natasha.

Leave a Reply

